Vale Royal AC - Senior Section

Running and Athletics in the Heart of Cheshire.

TRACK TRAINING SESSIONS

The sessions below are those taking place on the track at Knights Grange involving juniors and seniors and coached by Andy Carter. Start time 7pm.
Training this week is fairly relaxed and geared towards Saturday's Northern XC - think about pace and keep to it - training sessions are as follows :-


Tuesday 22nd January : 60 Secs Hard ( 60 Secs ) 3 Mins tempo ( 60 Secs ) 6 Mins at Cross Country pace ( 60 secs ) 3 Mins tempo ( 60 secs ) 60 secs hard ( 60 secs ) 4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - a session to replicate a race  - Under 15's, if they wish, can do 60 Secs, 2 Mins, 5 Mins, 2 Mins, 60 Secs 


Thursday 24th January : 10 x 60 Secs ( 60 Secs ) - Hard for those NOT racing Saturday and at Cross Country pace for those racing on Saturday


Saturday : No formal hill session - Northerns at Pontefract


Sunday : 10.00am - Delamere Forest - Usual Sunday run - recovery pace for those who raced Saturday


Please see below the training scheduled for the rest of the Cross Country season and into preparation for the track !!


Tuesday 29th January : 9 Mins ( 3 Mins ) 7 Mins ( 2 Mins ) 5 Mins ( 2 Mins ) 3 Mins ( 2 Mins ) 4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - tempo session - under 15's 8,6,4,2 if they want to - starting with group and stopping a minute early 


Thursday 31st January : 3 Mins ( 2 Mins ) 3 x 60 Secs ( 60 Secs )  3 Mins ( 2 Mins ) 3 x 60 Secs ( 60 Secs ) 4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - 3 Mins at tempo - 60 Secs VO2 or faster - those racing Saturday can, if they wish, do 2 Mins of 3 Mins but all of the 60's etc


Saturday 2nd February : No Hill session - Cheshire schools Cross Country


Sunday 3rd February  : 10.00am - Delamere Forest - Usual Sunday run - recovery for those who raced Saturday 



Tuesday 5th February : 5 x 5 Mins ( 2 Mins ) 4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - tempo session but for under 15's do 5 x 4 Mins - start with the group and stop early


Thursday 7th February: 3 x 3 Mins ( 90 Secs ) 3 x 2 Mins ( 60 Secs ) 3 x 60 Secs ( 60 Secs ) 4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - start at tempo pace - increase to VO2 for the 2 Mins and faster for the 60 secs reps 


Saturday 9th February : No Hill session - vets champs at KG - if you feel like a run out then do the park run and then do the sprint session up to the mast !!


Sunday 10th February: 10.00am - Delamere Forest - Usual Sunday run.


Tuesday 12th February : 5 Mins tempo ( 2 Mins ) 3 Mins tempo ( 2 Mins ) 2 Mins VO2 ( 2 Mins ) 5 Mins tempo ( 2 Mins ) 3 Mins tempo ( 2 Mins ) 2 Mins VO2 ( 2 Mins ) 4x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs )   -   Under 15's to do 4,2,1,4,2,1


Thursday 14th February : 3 x [ 3 Mins ( 60 Secs ) 2 Mins ( 60 Secs ) 60 Secs ] 3 Mins  { 60 Secs recovery after 3rd set followed by 4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) } - 3 Mins at tempo , 2 Mins VO2 and 60 Secs a little quicker ! - suss out your distances before you get to training

Saturday 16th February : 8.30am Delamere Forest - Hill session


Sunday 17th February  : 10.00am - Delamere Forest - Usual Sunday run


Tuesday 19th February: 60 Secs Hard ( 60 Secs ) 4 Mins tempo ( 60 Secs )  6 Mins at Cross Country Pace ( 60 Secs )  4 Mins tempo ( 60 Secs )   60 Secs Hard ( 2 Mins )   4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - 60 Secs hard, 3 Mins tempo and 5 Mins at Cross Country pace for the Under 15's 


Thursday 21st February : 12 x 60 Secs ( 60 Secs ) - 10 at race pace for those racing and 12 hard for those not


Saturday 23rd February : No Hill session - National Cross Country


Sunday 24th February : 10.00am - Delamere Forest - Recovery run for those who raced on Saturday


Tuesday 26th February : 6 x 3 Mins ( 90 Secs ) 4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - tempo pace session but push the first and the last a little bit to replicate race conditions.


Thursday 28th February:  5 Mins ( 2 Mins ) 4 Mins ( 2 Mins ) 3 Mins ( 2 Mins )  2 Mins ( 2 Mins ) 60 Secs ( 60 Secs ) 4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - start off at tempo going at VO2 for the 3 Mins and quicker thereafter


Saturday 1st March : 8.30am Delamere Forest - Hill session


Sunday 2nd March : 10.00am - Delamere Forest - Usual Sunday run


Tuesday 5th March : 5 x 4 Mins ( 2 Mins ) 4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - slightly faster than tempo - under 15's if you wish do 5 x 3 Mins - start with the group and stop early


Thursday 7th March: 3 x 2 Mins ( 60 Secs ) 3 x 90 Secs ( 90 Secs ) 3 x 60 Secs ( 2 Mins ) 4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - 2 Mins at tempo - 90 Secs at VO2 and 60 Secs faster  - For those doing Inter Counties do 6 x 90 Secs with 90 Secs recovery plus 3 x 60 with 2 mins all at cross country race pace !


Saturday 9th March : No Hill session - Inter Counties Cross Country


Sunday 10th March : 10.00am - Delamere Forest - Usual Sunday run - recovery for those who raced Saturday


Tuesday 12th March  : 60 Secs Hard ( 60 Secs ) 3 Mins tempo ( 60 Secs ) 6 Mins at Cross Country pace ( 60 secs ) 3 Mins tempo ( 60 secs ) 60 secs hard ( 60 secs ) 4 x 30 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - a session to replicate a race  - Under 15's to do 60 Secs, 2 Mins, 5 Mins, 2 Mins, 60 Secs 


Thursday 14th March : 10 x 90 Secs ( 60 Secs ) VO2 pace for those not racing Saturday but 8 only at race pace for those doing English Schools


Saturday 16th March : No Hill session - English Schools Cross Country in Leeds


Sunday 17th March : 10.00am - Delamere Forest - Usual Sunday run - recovery for those who raced Saturday


Tuesday 19th March :  6 x 2 Mins ( 2 Mins ) 4 x 30m Secs ( 30 Secs )  - a 3k pace session to get you thinking of Summer sessions


Thursday 21st March : 10 x 60 Secs ( 60 Secs ) - race pace for those racing at the weekend but others aim for something like 1500 pace !


Saturday 23rd March: 8.30am - Delamere Forest : Hill session - hopefully Hidden Valley


Sunday 24th March: 10.00am - Delamere Forest : Usual Sunday run [ Remember clocks forward an hour on evening of 24th ]


Tuesday 26th March: 8 x 90 Secs ( 60 Secs ) - aim for something approaching 1500 pace - but stop at 400 - so actually 8 x 400 off approx a minute


Thursday 28th March: 20 x 40 Secs ( 30 Secs ) - you need to be operating at faster than 1500 pace but stop at 200 - so actually 20 x 200 off approx 30 Secs.


Saturday 30th March: 8.30am - Delamere Forest : Hill session


Sunday 31st March : 10.00am - Delamere Forest : Usual Sunday run.


Tuesday 2nd April - Portugal !



CORE STABILITY

It is also timely to remind you all not to forget your core training, and, for the older ones some upper body work ! For your core training  - as a minimum you should be doing plank, side plank, superman, brace, supine bridge and some press ups.