Vale Royal AC - Senior Section

Running and Athletics in the Heart of Cheshire.


Marathon Draw Rules

The club is assigned a small number of entries for the London Marathon.  (we expect 2 places for 2018).  These places are allocated by means of a draw according to the following rules.

To be eligible for a club place, you must meet the following criteria.

1.      You must be over 18 years of age.

2.     You must have been a member for the current and previous membership year (full membership  - see notes below*)

3.       You have not had a club place for the previous 2 London marathons.

4.      You must be in possession of a rejection slip (or have other clear proof of rejection) from the marathon entry ballot process.



1. To be eligible for the 2018 Marathon draw, you must have been a fully paid up current member April 2017 to March 2018 and paid the full year subs for the prior year (April 2016 to March 2017).

2.  Please register to be entered into the draw via the email address or via the contact on the website.

3. The draw will be held prior to an evening training session at the club house by a club committee member or appointed nominee.

4. It is recommended, but not compulsory, that you attend the draw.

5.The draw will have a number of reserves allocated. 

6. You will have to prove your eligibility for the club place (according to the eligibility criteria above) within one week after the draw (eg. provide proof of rejection from the the London marathon entry process).   If eligibility is not confirmed, then the place will be offered to the reserve.

7. Membership records will be checked with the club secretary.

8. If there are special circumstances in relation to the eligibility criteria you can apply to the club committee for special dispensation ideally no later than one month before the draw.  The committee’s decision is final.
Draw for 2017 London Marathon
2017 London Marathon Draw Result. Winners

Anthony Atkinson
Sarah Walker (Agreed by Committee earlier in year)

Reserve: Brian Dooley.

2017 elligible applicants:

For the record...the winners of the 2016 draw were Sarah Walker and Rick Murray (Carole Williams reserve). Due to injury Carole replaced Sarah Walker.